Window of opportunity for EU reform might shrink soon, experts suggest

Alexandra Brzozowski, Euractiv, 06.06.2018

Quotes

Link to full article


As the European Union finds itself at a crossroads and Brussels looks forward to a decisive Council summit at the end of the month, a recent report entitled “Re-energise Europe” calls on EU leaders to overcome divisions and implement reforms.

Migration crisis, Britain’s departure from the EU, the controversy over EU finances, to name but a few of the big challenges – Brussels is on a continuous quest to search for antidotes to improve economic performance, provide more security and tackle some of the issues that matter to citizens.

But time and again, it is made aware of how small the scope of European policy has become, what again became evident after the election in Italy at the latest.

“The window of opportunity is closing or starting to close, the upcoming month therefore will be decisive,” Janis Emmanouilidis, Director of Studies at of the Brussels based European Policy Centre (EPC) and author of the “Re-energise Europe” report, told a high-level conference last week in Brussels.

Launched by a consortium of European foundations, over the past five years the New Pact for Europe (NPE) initiative has brought together EU citizens in more than 120 national and transnational debates in 17 European member states. The goal of the initiative was to spot concerns, frustrations and divisions that cause disconnection across and within member states.

“The aim was to restore trust between Europeans through dialogue and to identify the major reforms that would revive the European project,” explained Emmanouilidis. The discussions involved experts, citizens and representatives of civil society from all over Europe.

The now published final report, “Re-energising Europe – A package deal for the EU27”, puts forward suggestions for how to avoid future crises, with proposed reform measures to respond to pressing problems of European citizens.

Covering the economic, social, and security dimension it proposes compromise solutions that could lead to a more differentiated integration process, where different groups of member states intensifying functional cooperation in different policy fields as foreseen in the Lisbon Treaty.

Countering insecurity

Future development of the EU will according to the authors of the report be shaped by the fallout of the poly-crisis of the past decade that have not been fully overcome: the frustration with the EU’s inability to come up with resilient solutions, fragmentation and distrust between member states, and between European capitals and ‘Brussels.

Moreover, the populist threat of a more regressive, closed and nationalist Europe is becoming increasingly burdensome, as evidenced by the election results in Germany, Austria, Italy and Hungary.

However, the report states that a “new sense of optimism” is visible, with the unifying effect of Brexit and US President Donald Trump’s election, the return of economic growth and rising citizen’s confidence in the European project amid this ”annus horribilis”.

In its conclusions, the report warns that no agreement will materialise between the North and the South on the reforms of the eurozone, or between West and East on the issue of migration, if the member states do not know how to find a balance between solidarity, responsibility and security that overcome divisions.

The New Pact for Europe report shows that an ambitious but realistic compromise at twenty-seven is possible. But the main message is, however, that failure to reform Europe in 2018 could lead to regrets. “If there was ever a bigger push for integration, it always happens out of crisis,” Emmanouilidis recalled.

The Franco-German engine and a turning point

Meanwhile, everything points to one important deadline – the European Council summit in June – where all the mentioned major European challenges in the report – migration, eurozone, defence – will be on the agenda.

“The key lies in Paris and Berlin and as to whether they will be ready and able to formulate a joint inclusive initiative which also reflects the interest of others which can then be a basis to progress at EU27 level – a key lies with the German Chancellor,” Emmanouilidis as well reasoned in a panel discussion with stakeholders during the conference last week.

After months of hesitation, it was expected that by then, German Chancellor Angela Merkel and French President Emmanuel Macron will come up with joint proposals for European reforms.

And indeed, the political turmoil in Italy and Spain and transatlantic tensions seemed to have been a wake-up call: After a week of political turmoil inside the EU, in one of her rather rare newspaper interviews with Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung, Merkel responded to Macron’s reform proposals, offering olive branches on investment and help for debt-mired eurozone member states, with some support for a revamped defence policy.

However, a Franco-German axis would in the end tangibly influence the fate of weaker member states, whereas a backslide the resentment over the influence from Berlin, Paris and Brussels could continue to grow.

“Even if there is a Franco-German understanding, do not understand me wrong, that cannot be a ‘dictate’: it is not about them dictating what should be done, it needs to be inclusive and there are a lot of veto players, which even if there is an agreement between Paris and Berlin, would be among those who would argue against any kind of movement at the present point of time,” Emmanouilidis warned.

Read full article here


Latest media contributions

Κατευθείαν στα βαθιά η φον ντερ Λάιεν
Quotes, Kathimerini (GR), 21.07.2019

"Das sollte die Warnlampen angehen lassen"
Quotes, Tagesspiegel (GER), 19.07.2019

Neue Chance für Spitzenkandidaten
Quotes, Wiener Zeitung, 18.07.2019

„Rede vor dem Parlament war entscheidend“
Interview, AufRuhr, 17.07.2019

Warum der SPD-Widerstand von der Leyen zusätzliche Stimmen bescheren könnte
Interview, Dresdner Neueste Nachrichten (DNN), 16.07.2019

Warum das EU-Parlament für Ursula von der Leyen stimmen sollte
Quotes, Frankfurter Rundschau, 16.07.2019

First Woman Chosen for Top E.U. Job Wins Confirmation
Quotes, New York Times, 16.07.2019

Setzt sich von der Leyen in Brüssel durch?
Talkshow, NDR Info Redezeit, 16.07.2019

Merkel’s Ally Pushes for Last-Minute Votes to Take Top EU Job
Quotes, Bloomberg, 15.07.2019

Von der Leyen kämpft um den Kommissionspräsidentenposten
Quotes/Interview, ORF ZIB 2, 15.07.2019


Media

La fenêtre d’opportunité de réforme de l’UE déjà en train de se refermer

Alexandra Brzozowski, Euractiv, 06.06.2018

Quotes

Link to full article


L’Union européenne est à un tournant. La direction à prendre devrait être définie par le Conseil à la fin du mois. Un rapport récent appelle les dirigeants à dépasser leurs divisions et à mettre en place des réformes nécessaires. [...]

« La fenêtre d’opportunité a commencé à se fermer et le mois à venir sera décisif », estime Janis Emmanouilidis, directeur d’études du Centre de politiques européennes et auteur du rapport « Re-energise Europe » (ré-énergiser l’Europe).

Lancée par un consortium de fondations européennes, l’initiative « Nouveau Pacte pour l’Europe » (NPE) a réuni au cours des cinq dernières années plus de 120 citoyens européens dans plus de 120 débats nationaux et transnationaux dans 17 États membres. L’objectif de l’initiative était de repérer les inquiétudes, les frustrations et les divisions qui causent une fragmentation entre les États membres et à l’intérieur de ceux-ci.

« Le but était de restaurer la confiance entre les Européens par le dialogue et d’identifier les réformes majeures qui relanceraient le projet européen », explique Janis Emmanouilidis. Les discussions ont impliqué des experts, des citoyens et des représentants de la société civile de toute l’Europe.

Le rapport final maintenant publié, « Re-energising Europe », propose des suggestions sur la manière d’éviter diverses crises futures, avec des proposition de réformes pour répondre aux problèmes urgents des citoyens européens.

Le rapport couvre les dimensions économique, sociale et sécuritaire, et propose des solutions de compromis qui pourraient conduire à un processus d’intégration plus différencié, dans lequel différents groupes d’États membres intensifient la coopération fonctionnelle dans certains domaines politiques, comme le prévoit le Traité de Lisbonne.

Insécurité

Selon les auteurs du rapport, le développement futur de l’UE sera façonné par les retombées des crises multiples de la dernière décennie, qui n’ont pas été entièrement surmontées : la frustration face à l’incapacité de l’UE à trouver des solutions résilientes, la fragmentation et la méfiance entre les États membres, et entre les capitales et Bruxelles.

En outre, la menace populiste d’une Europe plus régressive, fermée et nationaliste devient de plus en plus inquiétante, comme en témoignent les résultats des élections en Allemagne, en Autriche, en Italie et en Hongrie.

Cependant, le rapport indique qu’un « nouvel optimisme » est visible, un effet d’union face au Brexit et au président américain, Donald Trump, le retour de la croissance économique et la confiance croissante des citoyens dans le projet européen dans le cadre de cette « annus horribilis ».

Dans ses conclusions, le rapport prévient qu’aucun accord ne se matérialisera entre le Nord et le Sud sur les réformes de la zone euro, ni entre l’Ouest et l’Est sur la question des migrations, si les États membres ne savent pas comment trouver un équilibre entre solidarité, responsabilité et sécurité.

Un compromis ambitieux, mais réaliste, à 27 est cependant possible, assurent ses auteurs. Leur message principal est néanmoins que l’échec de la réforme de l’Europe en 2018 pourrait conduire à des regrets. « S’il y a un jour eu un plus grand enthousiasme pour l’intégration, cela ne s’est jamais produit en temps de crise », rappelle Janis Emmanouilidis.

Moteur franco-allemand

Entre-temps, le sommet du Conseil européen de juin constitue une échéance importante. Tous les grands défis européens mentionnés dans le rapport (migration, zone euro, défense) seront à l’ordre du jour.

« La clé se trouve à Paris et à Berlin. Reste à savoir s’ils seront prêts et capables de formuler une initiative commune inclusive qui reflète également l’intérêt des autres qui peut ensuite servir de base pour progresser au niveau de l’UE à 27 – la balle est dans le camp de la chancelière allemande », assure Janis Emmanouilidis.

Après des mois d’hésitation, on s’attendait à ce que la chancelière allemande, Angela Merkel, et le président français, Emmanuel Macron, présentent des propositions communes de réformes européennes avant le sommet.

Les troubles politiques en Italie et en Espagne et les tensions transatlantiques semblent de fait avoir été un signal d’alarme. Après une semaine de chaos politique, dans une de ses rares interviews avec Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung, Angela Merkel a répondu aux propositions de réforme d’Emmanuel Macron, tendant une perche sur l’investissement et l’aide aux États membres de la zone euro endettés, avec un soutien pour une révision de la politique de défense.

À long terme, un axe franco-allemand influencerait de manière tangible le sort des États membres les plus faibles, mais pourrait alimenter la rancœur sur l’influence de Berlin, Paris et Bruxelles.

« Même s’il y a un accord franco-allemand, comprenons-nous bien, cela ne peut être imposé aux autres. Il ne s’agit pas de leur dicter ce qui doit être fait, il faut un accord inclusif. Un certain nombre de dirigeants useraient en outre de leur veto comme tout type de mouvement, même s’il y a un accord entre Paris et Berlin », prévient le spécialiste.

Read full article here


Latest media contributions

Η συμφωνία των Πρεσπών και η «υποχώρηση» του Βερολίνου
Quotes, Kathimerini (GR), 29.10.2019

Wahl in Polen: Klarer Sieg für PiS
Quotes, Frankfurter Rundschau, 14.10.2019

Große Koalition in Brüssel?
Quotes, WDR 5 – Politikum, 07.10.2019

Vestager in Doppelrolle: Trump dürfte sein Feindbild weiter pflegen können
Quotes, Handelsblatt, 12.09.2019

Nowa szefowa KE krytykowana za nazwę teki komisarza ds. migracji
Quotes, Polskie Radio, 12.09.2019

So verlaufen die Konfliktlinien in der neuen EU-Kommission
Quotes, Handelsblatt, 11.09.2019

Ekspert: nowa KE jest zrównoważona pod względem płci i geografii
Quotes, Forsal (PL), 11.09.2019

Von der Leyens Fleißaufgabe
Quotes, tagesschau.de, 10.09.2019

Margrethe Vestager, de EU-powervrouw die door Silicon Valley gevreesd wordt
Quotes, De Morgen (BE), 09.09.2019

Κατευθείαν στα βαθιά η φον ντερ Λάιεν
Quotes, Kathimerini (GR), 21.07.2019


Media